The Embassy

History of the Embassy

The Ghana Embassy in The Hague started its operations in 1998. The Embassy has witnessed the appointment of three former Ambassadors in the personalities of H.E.Mrs. Brookman Amissah (1998-2000), H.E. Dr(Mrs) Grace Amponsah-Ababio (2001-2008), H.E. Mrs. Aanaa N. Enin (2009-2013), and the immediate past Ambassador, H.E. Dr. J. Tony Aidoo.

The current ambassador, Her Excellency Ms. Sophia Horner-Sam, presented her Letters of Credence to His Majesty the King of the Netherlands Willem-Alexander, at the Noordeinde Palace in The Hague on 25th October, 2017.

Office of the Head Mission

Office of the Head of Mission is responsible for issues in connection with the Ambassador. The Ambassador is also referred to as the Head of Mission. He or She is the representative of the Government of Ghana to the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In the absence of an Ambassador the second in rank at the Embassy (usually the Deputy) takes charge of the Embassy in the capacity of Ag. Head of Mission or Charge D’affaires ad interim.

Administration Department

The Administration Section is responsible for all communication between the Embassy and its area of accreditation. The Section is also responsible for all activities carried out by the Staff of the Embassy/Mission/Chancery. The Administration Department is headed by the Head of Chancery.

Consular Department

The Consular Section of the Embassy is made up of the Travel Section and General Consular Section. The Consular Officer is responsible for activities of the Consular Section, including providing assistance to Ghanaian nationals and to people who wish to travel to Ghana for leisure, business or family visit purposes. The Consular Section is open to the general public from Monday to Friday from 10hrs to 13hrs. More information on the activities of the Consular Section can be found at the Consular Section of this website.